国家能源局将放宽对各省新建燃煤电厂的许可限制

气候
2020年 06月 9日

燃煤电厂(版权: Shutterstock/Kodda)

导言:2月份中国能源主管部门国家能源局发布年度煤电规划建设风险预警通知,示意加大对新建燃煤电厂的许可。

2020年2月26日,中国国家能源局发布了 “2023年煤电规划建设风险预警的通知” ,煤炭预警体系具有重要意义,基于该预测结果将决定各省是否可以建造新的燃煤电厂。

煤电规划预警体系的引入是为了应对煤电过度审批,避免产能过剩所采取的手段。此前,中国政府将新建电厂的审批权下放到各省,导致了大量新建电厂通过审批开始建造,而超过了实际的需求量,最终导致了国家能源局在2016和2017年停止了所有燃煤电厂项目。随后,为了给各省份提供更好的指导,中国引入了煤电规划建设风险预警体系,针对不同指标进行了分级。该体系每年公布一次,评估期为三年。当一个省份被判定为“红色”等级时,那么当年则不允许该省建造新的发电厂;而在评定为“黄色”级别时,只有在一定条件下才能给予许可。

煤电规划建设风险预警的指标体系分为煤电装机充裕度预警指标、资源约束指标、煤电建设经济性预警指标。其中,煤电装机充裕度预警指标与资源约束指标为约束性指标,煤电建设经济性预警指标是建议性指标。在该体系初引进时几乎所有省份都被评定为“红色”,现在已经有越来越多的省份已可以批准建造新的发电厂,而随着今年风险预警通知的发布,到2023年,共有19个省份将全部或部分评定为“绿色”。

这一煤电规划的通知发布之时正值中国经济受到新型冠状病毒疫情的严重影响,这让外界猜测,放宽限制的目的是通过支持大规模的投资和建设来提振经济,而燃煤电厂正是一个很好的选择。另一促成这一变化的原因可能是由于能源需求的提高:到2023年,中国的能源需求将会从现在的7.000太瓦时增长到12.000太瓦时。为覆盖这一增长的需求,中国电力企业联合会及电力规划设计总院建议将下一个五年计划中的煤电装机容量限制从目前计划中的1.100吉瓦提高至1.300吉瓦或1.200吉瓦。但是也有专家指出,鉴于各省之间电力交换的潜力不断加强以及可再生能源和核能的增长,高峰时段的电力需求可能比预期的要少。

尽管目前国内与国际上对于能源过剩这一问题一直有所争论,但国家能源局依然给出了这一信号。一些观察人士对产能过剩可能带来的经济风险表示了担忧。目前中国超过半数的煤炭企业是不盈利的,且平均利用小时数低于50%。此外,由于煤炭电厂投资项目的寿命期较长,也有人对其资产搁浅的风险表示担忧。

虽然装机容量的增加会导致温室气体排放量的增加,但排放量的增加一定与新增装机容量成正比。例如,2019年国内装机容量提高了4%,而煤炭消费提高了1%,因此装机容量的提高导致平均利用率进一步降低(加剧运营商所面临的经济问题)。而另一个方面,新建的电厂也会取代单位发电量排放量较高的老旧、低效电厂,因此排放量的增加与新增装机容量并不一定成正比。

2019年中国一次能源消费中,煤炭装机容量为1000吉瓦,占一次能源消费的58%,尽管2019年可再生能源(包括水电)装机容量快速增长,已占中国一次能源消费的13%,但煤炭仍在中国能源体系中占据主导地位。

分享本文

中德气候伙伴关系第三期

实施国家
中国
合作伙伴
德国联邦环境、自然资源与核安全部;中国生态环境部;中国国家能源局
执行机构
国家发展和改革委员会能源研究所
项目期限
09/2017 – 09/2020

2009年中德两国签署了《中德关于应对气候变化合作的谅解备忘录》,并启动中德气候伙伴关系项目作为该双边对话的平台,以支持德国环境、自然资源与核安全部和中国生态环境部之间的合作。伴随着2018年中国政府机构改革,该项目进入新的阶段。在此阶段,中德气候伙伴关系项目将致力于推进双边政策对话和气候变化领域的国内、国际合作。同时该项目将支持发展和实施中国中长期低碳发展战略,以此支持中国政府加强其气候治理系统。 国内方面,中德气候伙伴关系项目支持气候双边政策对话(中德应对气候变化工作组会),并增强对德国经验和最佳实践的借鉴,包括提高发展气候和能源行动的综合计划以及城市适应气候变化的能力。国际方面,该项目将增强气候政策及其实施的最佳实践模式的相关知识。 针对在中德应对气候变化工作组会中确立的议题,该项目将承担IKI项目孵化器的职责。作为信息交流接口,该项目加强与IKI项目的国内、国际合作伙伴的交流,尤其是关于《联合国气候变化框架公约》(UNFCCC)相关议程的交流。

National Energy Administration loosens restrictions for provinces’ licences for new coal-fired power plants

climate
Jun 9, 2020

Coal power plant (Copyright: Shutterstock/Kodda)

 

With the release of its annual coal early warning system in February, China’s energy authority NEA has signalled increased scope for licencing new coal-fired power plants.

On 26 February 2020, China’s National Energy Administration (NEA) published its ‘Circular on 2023 risk and early warning for coal power planning and construction’. The outcomes of this early warning system are of high relevance because its projections are used to determine whether provinces will be allowed to licence the construction of new coal power plants.

The system was introduced as a reaction to the excessive licencing of coal power plants and to avoid overcapacities. The central government had previously devolved the authority for approving new plants to the provinces, which led to an increase in new licences and construction that outpaced demand. This development ultimately resulted in the NEA blocking the construction of any new coal power plants in 2016 and 2017. Subsequently, the forecast with a traffic light rating system was introduced to give more guidance to the provinces. It is published annually, with assessments for the three years ahead. When a province is set to ‘red’, no new construction is allowed in that year; when set to ‘yellow’, a licence can only be granted under certain conditions.

The forecast is divided into three separate ratings based on 1) the adequacy of generation capacity in terms of the required supply and reserves, 2) resource restrictions such as air and water pollutants, 3) the economic feasibility of projects based on the expected return on investment in comparison to Chinese National Bonds. The latter factor is non-binding. When the system was introduced, nearly all provinces were marked as ‘red’, but in recent years, more and more provinces have been allowed to licence new constructions. With the new issue, this trend proceeds, and until 2023, 19 provinces will be fully or partially set to ‘green’.

This change in coal regulation comes at a time when the Chinese economy is struggling with the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, which has led to speculations that the goal of the loosened regulations is to boost the economy by supporting large-scale investment and construction, for which coal-fired power plants are particularly suitable. Another factor in the decision may be that Chinese energy demand is expected to grow from 7,000 TWh as of now to 12,000 TWh in 2030. To cover the expected demand, especially in peak hours, the China Electricity Council (CEC), which is affiliated with the big utility companies, and the China Electric Power Planning and Engineering Institute (EPPEI), which is part of the state grid, suggest increasing the coal power capacity limit from 1,100 GW in the current Five-Year Plan to 1,200-1,300 GW in the next one. Some experts, however, have pointed out that the need for peak hour production is smaller than expected, given the potential of intensified electricity exchange between provinces and the growth both in renewable and nuclear energy.

The recent decision by the NEA comes amid domestic and international debates about significant overcapacities in the coal sector. A few observers have expressed concerns over the economic risks of excessive capacity. More than half of all coal power companies are not profitable, and the average utilisation of capacity is less than 50%. Due to the long lifespan of an investment in coal plants, concerns have been voiced about the risk of stranded assets.

Whereas an increase in installed coal capacity is very likely to lead to higher emissions, it must be noted that this increase in emissions will not necessarily be in proportion to the additional installed capacity. Whereas installed capacity increased by 4% in 2019, coal consumption increased by 1%. Therefore, an expansion of capacity could see the average utilisation of plants drop even further in the future, further deepening the operators’ economic problems. Another notable aspect is that newly constructed capacities may replace older and less efficient plants that have higher emissions per unit of power produced.

With an installed capacity of 1,000 GW in 2019 and a share of 58% in China’s primary energy consumption, coal still dominates China’s energy system, despite fast-growing renewable energy capacities (including hydropower), which amounted to 13% of primary energy consumption in 2019.

Share this article

Sino-German Climate Partnership III

Project country
China
Political Partners
German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU); Ministry of Ecology and Environment of the People's Republic of China (MEE); National Energy Administration of the People's Republic of China (NEA)
Implementation Partners
Energy Research Institute of the National Development and Reform Commission of the People's Republic of China
Duration
09/2017 – 09/2020

Germany and China signed the Memorandum of Understanding on Cooperation in Combatting Climate Change and initiated this bilateral dialogue as "Sino-German Climate Partnership". The project has been established to support the cooperation between the German Ministry of Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) and the Chinese Ministry of Ecology and Environment (MEE). The new phase of the project starts in 2018 with close alignment to the restructuring at the Chinese government. In this phase, the project aims to advance the policy dialogue and cooperation with the Chinese partners domestically as well as within the international context of climate change. Part of the work will be supporting the development and implementation of China's medium- and long-term low-carbon development strategies, hence by supporting the Chinese government in strengthening the climate governance system. Domestically the SGCP project supports the policy dialogue on climate change (Sino-German Working Group on Climate Change) and enhances the exchange of German experiences and best practices, this includes strengthening capacities for the development of integrated climate and energy action plans as well as adaptation concepts for cities. On international level the SGCP project enhances the knowledge of both patterns about best practices in regard of climate policies and their implementation. For new cooperation topics identified by the Working Group on Climate Change, the project acts as an incubator for IKI development. As interface for information management, it serves a as a hub for exchange between partners of the IKI within and outside China, especially within the UNFCCC process.