《全国重要生态系统保护和修复重大工程总体规划(2021—2035 年)》政策摘要

环境
2020年 07月 16日

新冠肺炎疫情对中国经济造成的影响日益显现。外界担忧中国能否在巨大的经济复苏压力下继续坚持“绿色发展”。2020年6月11日,中国国家发展改革委、自然资源部联合印发了《全国重要生态系统保护和修复重大工程总体规划(2021-2035年)》(以下简称《规划》)。《规划》作为一项重要的纲领性政策,既是国家长期战略的延续,也向世界发出强烈信号,让国际社会相信中国仍然坚定地致力于实现环境保护各项议程。

作为中国今后一段时期生态系统保护和修复工作的全面指导方针,《规划》明确了到2035年应实现的生态系统质量改善目标并设定了时限,同时在全国范围部署九大生态系统保护与修复工程,力求实现既定目标。《规划》将这段时间定性为建设“生态文明”的关键窗口期,同时为2035年实现“社会主义现代化”和“美丽中国”的长期战略目标开辟道路。

《规划》的总体目标是生态系统(森林、草原、沙漠、河湖、湿地、海洋等)现状实现根本好转,生态服务功能显著提高,生态稳定性明显增强,自然生态系统基本实现良性循环。《规划》还强调要基本建成国家生态安全屏障体系,优质生态产品供给能力基本满足人民群众需求,人与自然和谐共生的美丽画卷基本绘就。到2035年的规划目标包括如下内容:

  • 森林覆盖率达到26%,森林蓄量达到 210 亿立方米,保有天然林面积2亿公顷左右;
  • 治理75%以上的可治理沙化土地,新增治理水土流失面积5640万公顷;
  • 草原综合植被盖率达到60%;
  • 湿地保护率提高至60%;
  • 以国家公园为主体的自然保护地占陆域国土面积 18%以上;
  • 自然海岸线保有率不低于 35%,海洋生态恶化的状况得到全面扭转;
  • 濒危野生动植物及其栖息地得到全面保护。

《规划》明确了七大重点生态区,这些区域各有特色,对中国的生态、经济和安全而言具有重要意义。多年来,重点生态区内的生态环境一直面临巨大压力。重点生态区的划分依据一系列生态系统保护国家战略和举措,如国土空间规划框架、国家生态安全战略格局以及其他重点工作,特别参考了生态保护红线和全新保护区体系的规划。《规划》坚持科学治理,推进综合施策,稳步开展各项工作,统筹考虑生态系统的完整性、地理单元的连续性以及野生动植物生境的连通性,充分体现在在区域特征描述中。

从地理范围看,七大重点生态区涵盖了所有主要的生态安全屏障,代表了中国最具价值的生态资产。划定重点生态区,有利于促进中国核心跨区域经济中心实现更加协调及可持续的发展,包括京津冀地区、长江经济带、粤港澳大湾区、长三角地区、黄河流域等。

《规划》提出,未来15年将重点推进以下九大生态保护与修复工程,覆盖全部七大重点生态区(黑体):

  1. 青藏高原生态屏障区
  2. 黄河重点生态区(含黄土高原生态屏障)
  3. 长江重点生态区(含川滇生态屏障)
  4. 东北森林带
  5. 北方防沙带
  6. 南方丘陵山地带
  7. 海岸带
  8. 自然保护地建设及野生动植物保护重大工程
  9. 生态保护和修复支撑体系重大工程

《规划》出台后,主管部门将在2020年底前制定九大生态保护与修复工程的具体实施路线图。从2021年至2025年,国家重点生态区、生态保护红线区、国家重点保护区的生态系统保护和修复将获得巨额资金投入,解决一批重点区域的核心生态问题。从2026年到2035年,九大重点工程全面实施,为建设美丽中国、基本实现社会主义现代化奠定坚实生态基础。

报道,九大工程总的投资预计可能超过3万亿元,将不会低于上一期规划(2013-2020年)的规模。上一期规划还配套了高级别政策文件指导,主要关注与核心自然资源相关的重大问题。

《规划》一经发布便受到政策观察员和专家的密切关注,九大重点工程的具体实施规划也被寄予厚望。

 

更多内容详见中文报道

 

分享本文

中德环境伙伴关系第二期

实施国家
中国
合作伙伴
德国联邦环境、自然资源与核安全部; 中国生态环境部
执行机构
生态环境部对外合作与交流中心; 中国环境与发展国际合作委员会(国合会)
项目期限
09/2017 – 10/2021

中德环境伙伴关系项目自 2013 年启动以来,中德双方已针对一系列专业课题展开了丰富的经验和意见交流,为中德环境政策双边对话提供了有力支持。该项目通过培训、人员交流和传授相关知识等方式提升机构和个人能力,从而为中国未来的“生态文明”转型和建设“美丽中国”做好充分准备。该项目受德国联邦环境、自然保护和核安全部(BMU,以下简称德国环保部)和中国生态环境部(MEE)共同监督,由德国国际合作机构(GIZ)负责实施,并通过德国环保部国际气候倡议募资。2017 年 9 月,中德环境伙伴关系项目进入第二阶段,并将持续至 2021 年。中德环境伙伴关系项目通过举办各种活动为中国合作伙伴提供支持,致力于将现有环境管理体系转变为一个集学术界、产业界以及民间团体等多方参与的综合环境管理体系。这些活动将进一步加深中德环境战略对话。为此,中德双方将加强交流,以期对中国主动承担全球环境和气候变化方面的责任产生持续的积极影响,从而推进巴黎协定以及 2030 联合国可持续发展议程的实施。

Policy Summary on the “Master Plan for National Key Ecosystem Protection and Restoration Major Projects (2021-2035)”

Environment
Jul 16, 2020

Amid concerns on how “green” China can remain under enormous recovery pressure due to the mounting economic fallout of the coronavirus outbreak, China’s National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and the Ministry of Natural Resources (MNR) jointly released the “Master Plan for National Key Ecosystem Protection and Restoration Major Protects (2021-2035)” (herein referred to as the “Master Plan”) on June 11, 2020. This key overarching policy framework was issued as both a continuation of the long-term national strategy and as a strong signal to reassure the world that China remains firmly committed to its environmental protection agendas.

Highlighted as China’s far-reaching guideline on ecosystem protection and restoration in the upcoming period, the Master Plan stipulates a set of time-bound ecosystem quality improvement targets by 2035, while rolling out nine major ecosystem protection and restoration projects across the country to put it on this envisioned path. The Master Plan characterizes the prescribed period as a pivotal time window for pursuing an “Ecological Civilization,” while paving the way towards the long-term strategic goals of realizing “Socialist Modernization” and achieving a “Beautiful China” by 2035.

The overall expectation is a substantial improvement of ecosystems (forest, grassland, desert, river and lake, wetland, ocean, etc.), with their ecosystem services providing capability, stability, and an ecologically positive feedback loop. The Master Plan also emphasizes the novelty of forging a national ecological security barrier system, to provide the public with sound ecological goods and services and a harmonious relationship with nature. A unit of quantitative goals for 2035 is listed, including the following:

  • To expand the forest coverage to 26% of China’s terrestrial area, its stocking volume to 21 billion cubic meters, and to maintain the area of natural forest at 200 million hectares;
  • To have 75% of recoverable sandy land under treatment, with 56.4 million hectares degraded land newly treated;
  • To cover 60% of grassland with vegetation;
  • To protect 60% of wetlands;
  • To have National Park centered protected areas account for over 18% of the national terrestrial areas;
  • To safeguard at least 35% of the country’s natural coastlines and prevent the marine ecological condition from worsening; and
  • To fully protect endangered species and their habitats.

The Master Plan outlines seven key ecosystem areas in China, which are all of distinctive but significant ecological, economic, and security importance to China. As a result, the environments in those areas had been exposed to severe development pressures for years. The identification of the key ecosystem areas builds on several fundamental ecosystem-related national strategies and initiatives, such as the national zoning framework, national ecological security structures, and some other ongoing efforts, in particular the Ecological Conservation Redlining implementation and the new Protected Area System formation. A science-based and integrated approach was adopted to ensure the robustness of the Master Plan. The continuity and integrity of natural geographical units, as well as the connectivity of species habitats, were reflected adequately in the area characterization.

From the perspective of geographic scope, the seven key ecosystem areas cover all of the main ecological security barriers, representing the most valuable ecological assets of China. The identification of the key ecosystem areas is also geared towards a more balanced and sustainable development of several pivotal cross-regional economic hubs in China, including the Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei Region, Yangtze River Economic Zone, Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, Yangtze River Delta Region, Yellow River Region, etc.

As part of the Master Plan, the following nine major projects on ecological protection and restoration will be promoted in the next 15 years, covering all seven key ecosystem areas (in bold):

  1. Ecological barrier area of the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau
  2. Key ecological regions of the Yellow River (including the ecological barrier of the Loess Plateau)
  3. Key ecological regions of the Yangtze River(including Sichuan-Yunnan ecological

barrier)

  1. Northeast forest belt 
  2. Northern sand control belt 
  3. Hilly and mountainous areas in the south 
  4. Coastal zone
  5. Construction of protected area and major projects for wildlife protection
  6. Ecological protection and restoration supporting system

Following the Master Plan, detailed and actionable roadmaps for the nine major projects are set to be developed by the competent authorities by the end of 2020. The years of 2021 to 2025 will see tremendous input for protecting and restoring the ecological environment in National Key Ecological Zones, Ecological Conservation Redlining areas, and Key National Protected Areas. Substantial progress in addressing the central ecological issues in those special areas is expected. From 2026 to 2035, the nine major projects will be in process, contributing to the timeline envisioned by the goals of “Socialist Modernization” and a “Beautiful China.”

It has been reported that the investments for the nine major projects may reach 3 trillion RMB, surpassing the amount for the previous phase of national ecological protection and construction from 2013-2020. The previous phase was also guided by a similar high-level policy document, which focused more on critical natural resources-related issues.

The Master Plan has gained massive attention from policy observers and experts, and high hopes have been placed on the rolling out of detailed plans for the nine major projects.

Read More in CN

Share this article

Sino-German Environmental Partnership II

Project country
China
Political Partners
German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU); Ministry of Ecology and Environment of the People's Republic of China (MEE)
Implementation Partners
International Environmental Cooperation Office (IECO), MEE; China Council for International Cooperation on Environment and Development (CCICED)
Duration
09/2017 – 10/2021

Since 2013, the Sino-German Environmental Partnership has supported bilateral environmental policy dialogue through the exchange of experience and advice on various specialist topics. Thereby, the project enhances institutional and individual capacities through training, the exchange of personnel, and knowledge transfer, to best prepare China for its future as a transformed “Ecological Civilization” and its path towards a “Beautiful China”. The partnership is overseen by the Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) of the Federal Republic of Germany and the Ministry of Ecology and Environment (MEE) of the People’s Republic of China. The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) is responsible for implementing the Sino-German Environmental Partnership, which is funded through the International Climate Initiative (IKI) of BMU. In September 2017, the Sino-German Environmental Partnership entered into its second phase, which will continue until 2021. Through its activities, the Sino-German Environmental Partnership supports its Chinese project partners in transforming the existing environmental management system into a holistic environmental governance system which involves actors from science, industry and civil society. The planned activities lead to an intensification of the German-Chinese strategic environmental dialogue. An enhanced exchange such as this will continue to positively impact China’s proactive ownership of global environmental and climate change responsibilities. This will support the achievement of the Paris Agreement and the 2030 Agenda.