Sino-German Cooperation
on Biodiversity, Climate and Environment
On behalf of International Climate Initiative (IKI)

水泥行业专题研讨会

2022年9月27日,水泥行业专题研讨会在京以线上线下形式召开。德国国际合作机构(GIZ)中德气候变化合作-实施NDC项目主任Steffen Menzel为研讨会致开幕词。会上,中方专家做了水泥行业的未来碳排放定量分析方法的介绍。德方行业专家们介绍了对潜在研究领域的研究思路。会末,国家应对气候变化战略研究和国际合作中心(NCSC)的张诗艺博士致辞,指出下一步德国和中国的合作伙伴可以共同编写一份涵盖所有五个合作领域的报告。

Photo Source: Unsplash

水泥行业对中国迈向碳中和目标起到至关重要的作用。中国的水泥生产和消费分别占全球总量的一半以上,其水泥碳排放量在全国排名第三,仅次于电力和钢铁,约占全国碳排放总量的13%。

当前水泥行业的主要挑战在于,如何利用转型技术大规模替代原材料和燃料;如何从煤炭转向低碳能源;如何应对快速转型中搁浅资产的风险等。

应对挑战的解决方案并不局限于减少需求,因为中国的城市化进程放缓,建筑行业扩张放缓,落后产能将被逐步淘汰,同时建材利用效率逐步提高。替代燃料的使用(固体废物、生物燃料、氢气、电力),将对减排发挥举足轻重的作用,一些替代燃料技术已经可以开始推广应用。此外,通过降低熟料比来改变水泥化学成分,开发新型低碳水泥,原料替代,提高熟料煅烧、研磨系统和数字化均有助于提高能源利用效率。最后,碳捕获、利用和封存(CCUS)可以建议不降低剩余的碳排放;选择封存方案的位置会影响未来水泥行业的地理分布。

值得探讨的还有水泥供应和需求的前景:在未来几十年里,水泥需求将受城镇化放缓和基础设施建设因素主导。到2050年,由于合理的城市规划、建筑结构的优化和建筑垃圾的回收利用,中国的水泥熟料需求,可能会下降至目前水平的三分之二。短期内,从供给方来看,淘汰落后和过剩产能是行业减排的主要途径,将助力行业尽快实现碳达峰。随着供给侧改革的推进,环保、错峰生产等政策的常态化,以及双碳目标下的碳市场将推动水泥行业逐步向低碳转型。然而,未来随着产业结构调整、环保压力加大、人员成本增加等因素,我国水泥熟料进口规模不排除进一步扩大的可能。

中国水泥行业替代燃料的发展相对滞后。废弃物协同处理是以废弃物衍生燃料替代燃料的先导,是最常采用的技术。目前,中国水泥生产的热替代率不到2%,而其他国家的替代率超过50%,有很大的提升空间。为了促进固体废物燃料的替代,必须解决废物燃料的市场定位、预处理技术、水泥质量控制和市场接受度等问题。

目前,中国每吨熟料的能耗在2.6至4.0吉焦(GJ)之间,相当于或优于欧洲和美国的平均水平。但是,仍有一些不合格的生产企业无法达到国家标准,急需进行技术改造。如果全国水泥生产线的整体熟料能耗能够从目前的3级提升到1级,就相当于减少了约14%的能耗和排放。

改变水泥化学成分的新型低碳熟料,未来可能占据更多的市场份额——因为水泥不再以硅酸钙为基础,氧化钙(CaO)含量低、煅烧温度低,碳排放也低。随着技术的成熟,并展开规模效应,CCUS有望成为水泥行业实现碳中和的一项核心技术。由于中国水泥行业具有良好的碳数据收集和核算能力,有条件纳入全国碳交易市场。碳价格将在加速行业转型中发挥重要作用,并使零碳水泥具有成本优势。

转型路径可以有以下阶段:

  • 从现在到2030年:减少需求和提高效率。将逐步建立和完善固体废物燃烧的技术和标准。清洁电力将占约40%,约5%的排放量可以被捕获。
  • 2030-40年:降低需求和燃料替代,以及推广CCUS技术。固体废物替代燃料的标准化和商业化。清洁电力将占约55%,约10%的排放可以被捕获。
  • 2040-50年:替代燃料和CCUS。在碳定价机制下,零碳水泥将显示出成本优势。约一半的煅烧燃料将由可持续能源提供,约30%的排放可被捕获。
  • 2050-60:新的替代生产技术,如氢气和绿色电力将成熟并实现商业化。全行业的燃料替代率将达到70%,90%的二氧化碳将被捕获。全行业的二氧化碳排放总量和水泥产品的碳强度将接近于净零。

目前,提高设备和能源效率是企业减少碳排放的主要方法。尽管一些现有技术在短期内对减排有利,但仅依靠现有技术不可能达到净零排放。因此,水泥行业的去碳化需要综合多种策略,包括降低水泥消费、创造低碳水泥品种、增加使用低碳能源来替代化石燃料,以及推广CCUS技术来减少工艺排放。

行之有效的制度对于水泥行业的净零排放转型至关重要。低碳水泥的成本优势可以通过碳定价等机制来保证。水泥部门的上游和下游部门相互关联,尤其是建筑、混凝土和燃料行业。

目前,中国在水泥生产的能源效率方面处于国际领先水平,并拥有技术创新能力与广泛应用经验,同时,氢能源的发展也被列入国家规划。以建筑业为代表的水泥下游行业继续深化绿色转型,强化低碳标准,有助于促进市场对低碳建材需求的增长,为实现国家对水泥行业的净零目标创造积极愿景。

更多与项目相关的活动

Sino-German Cooperation
on Biodiversity, Climate and Environment
On behalf of International Climate Initiative (IKI)

Cement Sector Work Package Workshop

On September 27, 2022 a cement workshop facilitating knowledge and experience exchange between Germany and China was held. Mr. Steffen Menzel Project Director of the Sino-German Cooperation on Climate Change – NDC Implementation Project opening the workshop with his introductory remarks and a brief introduction of the participants. This was followed by a Quantitative analysis of future carbon emissions of cement sector by expert from Chinese side. The final presentation in the workshop involved a potential research area, a follow-up from previous exchange by German consortium experts. The workshop concluded with remarks by Dr. ZHANG Shiyi, National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation (NCSC), with the next steps being the German and Chinese partners agreeing to work together on a report which will cover all of the five cooperation categories. 

Photo Source: Unsplash

 

The cement industry is a key factor in China’s transition to carbon neutrality. China’s cement production and consumption account for more than half of the respective global totals, and its cement carbon emissions are the third largest in the country, after those of power and steel, accounting for about 13% of the country’s total carbon emissions. 

The main challenges that lie ahead are the large-scale substitution of raw materials and ingredients using transformational technologies; switching from coal to low-carbon energy sources; the risk of stranded assets is high in a rapid transition, given the young assets of the industry amongst others.  

The solutions to these challenges include but are not limited to reducing demand which is likely to decline in China because of slowing urbanization, weakening construction, phasing out of substandard production capacity, and improvements in building material efficiency. The other solution is fuel switching which expounds on alternative fuels (solid waste, biofuel, hydrogen, electricity) which will play an important role in reducing emissions, and some technologies are already showing early applications. Changing the cement chemistry by reducing the clinker-cement ratio, developing new low-carbon cements, and switching raw materials will also be helpful along with an improvement in energy efficiency clinker calcination, the grinding system, and digitalization. Lastly, Carbon capture, utilization, and storage (CCUS) could provide end treatment of the remaining carbon emissions; the location of storage options could influence the industry’s future geographical distribution.  

The outlook on supply and demand is a pertinent point to consider. In the next decades, the slowdown of urbanization and infrastructure build-outwill dominate cement demand trends. By 2050, China’s cement clinker demand is likely to fall by two-thirds from current levels due to rational urban planning, optimization of building structure and recycling of construction waste amongst other factors. On the supply side in the short term, the elimination of backward and excess capacity is the main approach to emissions reduction in the industry, helping the industry to peak its carbon emissions as soon as possible. With the promotion of supply-side reform, the normalisation of policies such as environmental protection, staggered production, as well as the carbon market under the double carbon target, will combine forces to promote the cement industry to low carbon transformation. As for the future, with the industrial restructuring, increasing pressure on environmental protection, increasing personnel costs and other factors, China’s cement clinker import scale does not exclude the possibility of further expansion. 

The development of alternative fuels in China’s cement industry is relatively laggard. Waste co-processing, which is a precursor of fuel substitution by waste-derived fuels, is the most frequently adopted technology. At present, the thermal substitution rate in cement production is less than 2% in China, compared with rates of over 50% in other countries, leaving a large space for improvement. To promote solid waste fuel substitution, the market positioning of waste fuels, pre-treatment technology, cement quality control and market acceptance must be addressed.  

At present, the energy consumption per ton of clinker in China is between 2.6 and 4.0 gigajoules (GJ), which is equal to or better than the average in Europe and the United States. However, there are still some substandard producers that cannot meet the national standard and are in urgent need of technical improvement. If the overall clinker energy consumption of cement production lines across the country can be upgraded from the current Level 3 to Level 1, it would be equivalent to reducing energy consumption and emissions by about 14%. 

When it comes to changing cement composition and chemistry of new low-carbon clinkers — which are not based on calcium silicate and feature low calcium oxide (CaO) content, a low calcination temperature, and low carbon emissions — are expected to occupy a higher market share in the future. As the technology matures and the scale effect unfolds, CCUS is primed to become one of the core technologies to achieve carbon neutrality in the cement industry. China’s cement industry is well placed to be integrated into the national carbon trading market because of its good carbon data collection and accounting.  Carbon price will play an important role in accelerating the industry’s transition and making zero-carbon cement cost advantageous. 

The roadmap for transition is as follows –  

  • Until 2030: demand reduction & efficiency improvement. The technology and standards of solid-waste fuels will gradually be established and improved. Clean electricity will account for about 40%, about 5% of the emissions could be captured. 
  • 2030–40: demand reduction, alternative fuels, and CCUS. Standardization and commercialization of solid-waste fuels will be established. Clean electricity will account for about 55%, about 10% of the emissions could be captured. 
  • 2040–50: alternative fuels and CCUS. With the carbon pricing mechanism, zero-carbon cement will show a cost advantage. About half of the fuel for calcination will be provided by sustainable energy sources, about 30% of the emissions could be captured. 
  • 2050–60: new alternative production technologies, such as hydrogen and green electricity, will mature and become commercialized. The industry-wide fuel substitution rate will reach 70%, and 90% of CO₂ will be captured. Total CO₂ emissions from the industry, and the carbon intensity of cement products, will be close to net zero. 

At the moment, increasing equipment and energy efficiency are the main methods used in the business to reduce carbon emissions.1 These strategies won’t likely reach net-zero emissions using just current technologies, despite the fact that they can reduce emissions to some extent in the short future. A multifaceted strategy is needed to decarbonize the cement industry, including lowering cement consumption, creating low-carbon cement varieties, increasing the use of low-carbon energy sources to replace fossil fuels and electricity, and promoting CCUS technology to reduce process emissions.2 

The correct institutions are necessary for the net-zero transition in the cement industry. Cost advantages for low-carbon cement can be guaranteed by pricing mechanisms like carbon pricing. The upstream and downstream sectors of the cement business are interconnected, particularly the construction, concrete, and fuel sectors. 

China is currently at the forefront of international energy efficiency in cement production and has the experience and capacity to innovate and apply new technologies. The development of hydrogen energy is also included in national planning. These factors will create favorable conditions in terms of technology and cost for the application of new energy in the transformation of the cement industry. The downstream cement industry, represented by the construction industry, continues to deepen green transformation and raise low-carbon standards, which will benefit the low-carbon transformation of the building materials industry represented by cement and help foster a growing market demand for low-carbon building materials adding to a positive outlook on achieving the country’s net zero goal for this industry. 

More project related activities

2nd Workshop on Sino-German Experiences on Climate Governance

On September 20, 2022, NDC Implementation Consortium members from National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation, Climate Analytics, NewClimate Institute, and GIZ gathered to exchange knowledge and reflections on climate governance experiences within the past year.

Read More »

Exchanges on climate modelling with partners from Inner Mongolia

After the first workshop on modelling concepts with representatives of the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region took place on December 15 2021 and a follow-up exchange was held in early 2022, Climate Analytics Australia (CAA), the National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation (NCSC) and the GIZ NDC Implementation project organized further workshops in the course of April, May and June 2022. Further events and cooperation are planned throughout 2022.

Read More »