Sino-German Cooperation
on Biodiversity, Climate and Environment
On behalf of International Climate Initiative (IKI)

MEE rolls out process to create a list of power plants that will be included in the national ETS

May 27, 2019 – The Ministry of Ecology and Environment (MEE) issued a notice on the process of producing a list of power plants (incl. captive power plants) that will be included in the national ETS. The list is a major step towards the creation of a national emissions trading market.

On the provincial level, two officials from each province or region are required to create an ETS registry of power plants within their respective jurisdiction. The same applies to the companies which have to put forward a representative for their ETS participation.

An electronic version of the list of companies and their respective contact person must be submitted to the MEE’s Department of Climate Change (DCC) by July 19. As a follow-up, a paper version shall be submitted to the National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation (NCSC).

Source (Chinese):

More project related news

MEE publishes list of firms that supported data manipulation in the Chinese national ETS during the first compliance period

After July 2021 reports had shown that the technical service company China Carbon Energy Investment and S&T (中碳能投科技有限公司) falsified emission data and supported key enterprises in their effort to manipulate their data of the first compliance cycle, the Ministry of Ecology and Environment (MEE) announced to increase its attention on the quality of emission data.

Read More »